Board of Directors

November 19, 2015


 Julian C. Baker

Julian C. Baker is a Managing Partner of Baker Brothers Investments, which he and his brother, Felix Baker, Ph.D., founded in 2000. Baker Brothers Investments manages long-term investment funds for major university endowments and foundations which are focused on publicly traded life sciences companies. Mr. Baker’s career as a fund manager began in 1994 when he co-founded a biotechnology investing partnership with the Tisch family. Previously, Mr. Baker was employed from 1988 to 1993 by the private equity investment arm of Credit Suisse First Boston Corporation. He is also a director of Genomic Health, Inc.

 Paul A. Brooke

Paul A. Brooke is a founder and Managing Director of venBio, LLC, a pharmaceutical investment company. He was Chairman of the Board of Directors of Alsius Corporation, a medical device company, from June 2007 through its sale in 2009, and was the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of a predecessor company from 2005 to June 2007. Mr. Brooke has been the Managing Member of PMSV Holdings, LLC, a private investment firm, since 1993. He has also served as a Senior Advisor to Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated from April 2000 through 2009, and was a Venture Partner at MPM Capital, a venture capital firm specializing in the healthcare industry, from 1997 through 2006. From April 1999 through May 2000, Mr. Brooke served as a Managing Director at Tiger Management LLC. He was a Managing Director and the Global Head of Healthcare Research and Strategy at Morgan Stanley & Co. from 1983 to April 1999. Mr. Brooke is also a director of Cytos Biotechnology AG, Manning & Napier Fund Inc., and several privately held companies.

 Wendy Dixon, Ph.D.

Wendy Dixon, Ph.D., was Chief Marketing Officer and President of Global Marketing at Bristol-Myers Squibb Company from December 2001 until May 2009 and served on the CEO’s Executive Committee. From 1996 to 2001 she was Senior Vice President, Marketing – USHH at Merck and prior to that she held executive management positions at West Pharmaceuticals, Osteotech, Inc. and Centocor, Inc. and various positions at SmithKline & French Pharmaceuticals (now GSK) in marketing, regulatory affairs, project management and as a biochemist. Dr. Dixon is also on the board of directors of Orexigen Therapeutics, Inc., Alkermes Public Company Limited, bluebird bio, Inc., Furiex Pharmaceuticals, Inc., and a privately held company.

 Paul A. Friedman, M.D.

Paul A. Friedman, M.D. served Incyte as the Chief Executive Officer from November 2001 to January 2014 and was President of the company from May 2004 to January 2014. From 1998 until October 2001, Dr. Friedman served as President of DuPont Pharmaceuticals Research Laboratories, a wholly owned subsidiary of DuPont Pharmaceuticals Company (formerly The DuPont Merck Pharmaceutical Company), from 1994 to 1998 he served as President of Research and Development of The DuPont Merck Pharmaceutical Company, and from 1991 to 1994 he served as Senior Vice President at Merck Research Laboratories. Prior to his work at Merck and DuPont, Dr. Friedman was an Associate Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Friedman is a diplomate of the American Board of Internal Medicine and a member of the American Society of Clinical Investigation. Dr. Friedman is also a director of Auxilium Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Cerulean Pharma Inc., Durata Therapeutics, Inc., Synta Pharmaceuticals Corp., Verastem, Inc., and a privately held company.

 Hervé Hoppenot

Hervé Hoppenot joined Incyte in 2014 as President and Chief Executive Officer, and was appointed Chairman of the Board of Directors in 2015. Prior to joining Incyte, Mr. Hoppenot was the President of Novartis Oncology, where he was responsible for translational medicine, development, approval and commercialization, which included $11 billion in global sales, the largest oncology pipeline in the industry, and 8,000 employees in 50 countries. Mr. Hoppenot joined Novartis in 2003 and, in addition to his role as President, served as Chief Commercial Officer, Head of Global Product Strategy & Scientific Development, and Senior Vice President, Head of Global Marketing. He started his career in 1983 with Rhone Poulenc, later known as Aventis, where he served in several senior roles of increasing responsibility, including Vice President of Oncology and Head of the U.S. Oncology business unit. Mr. Hoppenot holds a Diploma from ESSEC International Business School.

 Jean-Jacques Bienaimé

Mr. Bienaimé has served as CEO and a Board member of BioMarin since May 2005. From November 2002 to April 2005, Mr. Bienaimé served as Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President of Genencor, a biotechnology company focused on industrial bioproducts and targeted cancer biotherapeutics. From 1998 to 2002, he was Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of SangStat Medical Corporation, another biotechnology company. Prior to joining SangStat, Mr. Bienaimé held various management positions from 1992 to 1998 with Rhône-Poulenc Rorer Pharmaceuticals (now known as Sanofi-Aventis).

Mr. Bienaimé currently serves on the board of Vital Therapies, Inc., a biotechnology company, as well as the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO). He received an M.B.A. from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania and a degree in economics from the École Supérieure de Commerce de Paris.

 Paul J. Clancy

Paul J. Clancy is Executive Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer of Biogen Idec and has served in these positions since August 2007. From 2001 to 2007, Mr. Clancy held several senior executive positions with Biogen Idec and its predecessor Biogen, Inc., including Vice President of Business Planning, Portfolio Management and U.S. Marketing, and Senior Vice President of Finance. Prior to that, he spent 13 years at PepsiCo serving in a range of financial and general management positions.

Mr. Clancy serves on the board of directors of Agios Pharmaceuticals, Inc., a biopharmaceutical company. He received his B.S. in Finance from Babson College and M.B.A. from Columbia University.